And diigo is its name…

Diigo

D = digest of   

I = Internet  

I = Information  

G = Groups and    

O = Other Stuff

 

According to sites.google.com, in its Diigo section, diigo “is a powerful free social bookmarking website with annotating capabilities”. At first I thought diigo was simply a place to house bookmarks. While it is just a place to collect resources, it is also a bit more. As an advocate of booknoting and old school in preferring books to online materials, diigo at least provides a compromise for me. Using diigo allows me to bookmark sites that interest me and then store the URL in a place other than on my computer. Since my bookmark list of favorites on my computer merely reflects sites of intermediate interest, diigo is a useful tool. Further, diigo allows me to store the site or article in My Library. Click here to see what I’ve stored so far:

https://www.diigo.com/user/loriisack

At first, I was unhappy about adding additional software to my toolbar, yet the blue symbol (a cobalt blue box with the white outline of what looks like a lower case “d” missing part of its stem top or a musical note located in the upper right corner of my computer does not detract from or interfere with anything else I have loaded on my computer. If I’m on a site such as sites.google.com to learn about diigo 101 and I want to save the site for future reference, I click on the blue symbol. Next, when taken to the diigo site, I choose My Library, and click on the Add+ button. It’s that simple.  As a member of the MVCR Technology Group, I have the option of storing materials that I think others might find useful, in the group section.

As one who likes to underline, comment, question, and connect to literature when I read (hence I enjoy booknoting), diigo enables the user to highlight and save the highlight. Further, it allows the user to add a sticky note and make comments and ask questions on it, and then save it too. The annotated site, filled with highlights and sticky notes can then be added to My Library in diigo by clicking on the symbol just as I saved a site.

This site is one I could suggest to students who purchase online textbooks. In this way, they would be able to annotate and increase their comprehension and be able to easily access the remarks they made and placed in their library. I could establish a class library too and leave participation as optional or offer minimal extra credit to those who utilize diigo. Initially, I didn’t see diigo as a teaching tool; however, I now see some exciting and engaging possibilities.

Image

Leave a Reply

