The Munchkin Bear

 

 

I’ve started a new online class: Instructional Design. Here’s my response to the first assignment.

Decide if you are a Lion, a Tiger, a Bear or an Oh My!…Choose a character from the Wizard of Oz and explain to us why it is fitting for you.

Yogi Bear, I am certain, influenced my love of the United States National Park system.

Further, even if I know exactly what is in a picnic basket, I enjoy the thrill of emptying a container filled with food. Unlike Yogi, I do not, or haven’t yet, taken food that is not mine; I ask first! However, like Yogi, I’ll admit, I’m “smarter than the average” bear. While like lions, I enjoyyogi bear park
a desert climate, and like tigers, I enjoy sitting by bodies of water, I prefer the more varied habitats of bears, which usually include mountains. And if this past winter is any indication of what bears experience, hibernation, may have an upside to it.  And like bears, I like honey. While the words, “Oh My” may have slipped into my vocabulary once or twice, it would be a rare response. So, I’ll choose to be more like a bear. To answer the second part of the question, while a great fan of L. Frank Baum’s The Wizard of Oz, I never thought to compare myself to any one of its characters. So, for the sake of simplicity, I’ll
choose munchkin because like munchkins, I am short in height and my singing might be questioned as actual singing. Hence, I shall become The Munchkin Bear.

In my role of The Munchkin Bear, I’ve decided to hobble along the ION MCVR road to continue my exploration of online education. Initially, I wanted to know how online classes worked and be able to answer questions my students ask of me. Now, I want to earn my certificate. While I prefer the face-to-face environment, the idea of online teaching intrigues me. In my real persona, I teach English as an adjunct instructoryellow brick road for Joliet Junior College, Joliet, Ill. For those who don’t know, JJC is the first community college in the nation, and Joliet is a suburb of Chicago and may sound vaguely familiar if you’re a Blues Brothers movie fan.

Leave a Reply

